Help and FAQ's

Search:
Go
Ask a Question
How do I upgrade from PinkNotes Plus v4?
If you're a previous PNP v4 user, you'll be happy to know we've created a utility called "Database Upload from PNP v4" and it is available for download on the Download page under Windows. This utility will import all of your existing data into the cloud hosted version.

You can try our PinkNotes 5 free for 30 days. If you just want to try it out, there is no obligation to stay with v5 and you can go back to using PNP v4 at any point. When installing PinkNotes 5 on your computers it does not remove or change anything in v4. You can even run the two versions side-by-side on your computers.

To upgrade from v4 please follow these steps:


  1. Sign up for a free trial account for PinkNotes 5. In the account sign up you will create your first user and that user will be setup as your administrator. The username you enter should be the same username you have used with v4. You can always change your username later on if you would like.
  2. Download and run the upload utility on your PNP v4 Master machine. This import will create all your other users automatically for you. You do not need to manually create the other usernames. Once the import is complete you will receive an email from us with all your users' login information. See below for more details on the import utility.
  3. You can then install PinkNotes 5 on each of your computers that you had v4 on and each user can login with the same username they used in v4. You can get the new install for v5 from the Download page under Windows.


In the import utility you will be prompted for your new PinkNotes login info. You must enter the same username and account name you created during the sign up. Once that login is complete, the data upload will begin. Please allow the process to finish before shutting it down or rebooting your Master PC.

NOTE: before running this upload you must stop the PNP v4 Master Service. To do this go into the Windows Control Panel, then Administrative Tools, then Services. Right-click on the line for "PinkNotes Plus Master" and select Stop.

We suggest viewing this video in full-screen mode by clicking the
button above

Once the upload process is complete, our servers still need to convert the uploaded data into a format that can be used with PinkNotes.

This process could take anywhere from a few minutes to a number of hours depending on the amount of past logs that you have and current activity on our network. The admin user that signed into the upload utility will get an email letting them know once the import is complete. That email will also include all the imported users' username and password. If a user did not have a password in v4 a default password will be created for them.

Here is also a PDF file that you can give to your end users to explain some of the differences between PNP v4 and PinkNotes 5: http://dl.alphamedia.net/PN5/PN5_NewUserTips.pdf

Related Questions in 'Upgrading From PNP v4'
Comments
Your Name
Post a Comment:
Post
No Comments for this Topic

Be the first to comment